The government has declared the following 18 provinces in Thailand to be labelled as “highest control areas”.

1. Bangkok
2. Chiang Mai
3. Chonburi
4. Samut Prakan
5. Prachuap Khiri Kan
6. Samut Sakhon
7. Pathum Thani
8. Nakhon Pathom
9. Phuket
10. Nakhon Ratchasima
11. Nonthaburi
12. Songkhla
13. Tak
14. Udon Thani
15. Suphanburi
16. Sa Kaeo
17. Rayong
18. Khon Kaen

Restrictions start on Sunday 18 April and continue for at least two weeks.

Restaurants can open until 9pm (for seated customers) and until 11pm for takeaway in the red provinces. In the orange provinces, they can stay open until 11:00pm. You cannot drink alcohol in restaurants in every province.

Pubs, karaoke bars, massage parlors, must close in all provinces

Schools must refrain from teaching and holding exams. But international schools may be allowed to hold international exams if no more than 50 people.